To stimulate, encourage, and reward outstanding contributions to the advancement of teaching first-year seminars.

Award recipient will receive:

  • Excellence in Teaching First-Year Seminars Plaque
  • Gift of $1000
  • Travel expenses up to $750 for the award recipient to attend
          The 2018 Annual Conference on the First-Year Experience


Important Dates:

August 7, 2017: Submission for nominations opens.

October 6, 2017: All complete nominations must be received.

February 12, 2018: Award recipient will be recognized at the 37th Annual Conference on The First-Year Experience.



   Nomination Procedure


College Dean or Chief Academic Officer will submit one nomination per college to the selection committee between August 7 and October 6, 2017. Each submission will include vitae, course syllabus, teaching evaluation, and philosophy of teaching in addition to the selection criteria listed below. Nomination may also include, but not required: a personal statement and/or letter of recommendation.

Nominations will be submitted to the selection committee via this website starting on August 7, 2017.


   Award Eligibility:

  • Must be teacher of record for First-Year Seminars (or other first-year Student Success course) for a minimum of two terms within three-years of the nomination.
  • Must be college/university faculty or staff
  • The following individuals are not eligible for the Award for Excellence in Teaching First-Year Seminars: National Resource Center staff and fellows; current members of the Center's National Advisory Board; and students, staff, and faculty of the University of South Carolina system as well as all McGraw-Hill Education staff and associates.
Selection Criteria
Evaluation of nominees will be based upon the selection criteria below. Nominations will show evidence of excellence in all of the required categories and one of the three other categories.
Develops Success in the Classroom and Beyond (required):
Provides students with tools necessary for success in the educational environment.
Develops Students’ Personal Strategies (required):
Challenges students to maximize their potential by helping students to identifying their own personal strengths and learning styles.
Incorporates Innovation in Teaching (required):
Acknowledges and caters to a variety of student learning styles and changing student needs by incorporating activities or pedagogy, content and activities that enrich and expand upon base-level course objectives.
Please choose one of the three following other categories:
Develops Critical and Analytical Thinking:
Challenges students to enhance critical thinking and analytical thinking skills.
Fosters Student Involvement in the Community:
Encourages and supports students in maximizing resources and opportunities available in their local and global community.
Supports Effective Utilization of Campus Resources:
Encourages and supports students in maximizing resources and opportunities available through their institution.

The award recipient will be chosen by the selection committee. The selection committee (not to include any representatives from the National Resource Center or McGraw-Hill Education) will include a national panel composed of members and former members of the Advisory Board of the National Resource Center, past outstanding first-year student advocates, and other leaders in American higher education. The award recipient and all other nominees not selected will be notified by mail no later than Novenber 20, 2017. The award recipient shall be presented at the 2018 Annual Conference on The First-Year Experience.


Questions? Contact Us